Facebook links time!

From time to time, I post various science related links on my facebook profile. Here are a couple from last month which I found interesting.

The ReCode Project 

From the relevant site : The ReCode Project is a community-driven effort to preserve computer art by translating it into a modern programming language (Processing). Every translated work will be available to the public and contemporary artists to learn from, share, and build on.

Linus Torvalds on C++ : Link here.

Things to avoid : How to write unmaintanable code.

Have you heard of the frogsort algorithmHere’s a StackOverflow view on that analysis.

 

In other news, I’ve been playing with processing.js (which for some reason I can’t quite make it work for me) and universe sandbox, which is awesome and you can try it for free.

It basically simulates the movement of different bodies (planets, stars, black holes) under a gravity potential (Newton’s gravitational law, anyone?). The integration method is Euler for efficiency and Runge – Kutta 4 for precision (although the whole thing hints that an adaptive method is used). I really like the way it’s made and I’ve been meaning for some time now to send an email to the guys/girls behind it with questions. Try it out! 🙂

